The 2023 Men’s Ballon d’Or: 8th time for Messi!

Not unexpected by the media, Lionel Messi has become the owner of the 2023 Men’s Ballon d’Or title. This is the 8th time the Argentine striker has won this award in his career.

The 2023 Men’s Ballon d’Or: 8th time for Messi!

Lionel Messi received the 8th Ballon d’Or title in his career

This morning, France Football magazine held a gala awarding the 2023 Men’s Ballon d’Or at Chatelet theater (Paris, France). At this event, the organizers awarded many individual awards, the most notable of which was the men’s Ballon d’Or award for the best player of the 2022-23 season.

True to the previously leaked information, Lionel Messi won the highest voting points and became the owner of the 2023 Ballon d’Or title. In this race, the Argentine striker surpassed two bright candidates, Erling. Haaland and Kylian Mbappe.

Notably, this is the 8th time in his career that Messi has been honored at the Ballon d’Or awards ceremony. He extended the record of winning this award, 3 more titles than the 2nd ranked person (Cristiano Ronaldo – 5). Previously, El Pulga won 7 Ballon d’Or in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021.

In last year’s Ballon d’Or race (2022), Messi did not make the nomination list. The award went to Karim Benzema. But in this year’s poll, El Pulga returned to the top thanks to his extremely impressive victory with Argentina in the 2022 World Cup finals.


Men’s Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi (Argentina/PSG – Inter Miami)

Women’s Ballon d’Or: Aitana Bonmati (Spain/Barcelona)

Best Young Player (Kopa Trophy): Jude Bellingham (England/Dortmund-Real Madrid)

Best goalkeeper (Yashin Trophy): Emiliano Martinez (Argentina/Aston Villa)

Best striker (Gerd Muller Trophy): Erling Haaland (Norway/Man City – 56 goals)

Best men’s club: Man City (England)

Best women’s club: Barcelona (Spain)

Socrates Award: Vinicius (Brazil/Real Madrid)